Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 30): CM Punk wins WWE World title, Buddy Rogers beats Pat O'Connor for NWA world tite

By Brian Hoops,

1932 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City before 3,500 fans; Billy Wolfe (champion of Missouri) beat Wild Red Berry.

1948 - In Wichita, Kansas at CeJay Stadium; World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown beat Lew Newman in 2 out of 3 falls, Don McIntyre beat Harry Cohen in a Hindu mud match and Barney Bernard and Ralph Garibaldi went to a 30 minute draw

1949 - In Kansas City; Tarzan Kowalski defeated Jim Wright in 2 out of 3 falls, also, Joe Pazandak defeated Herman Von Doyle in 2 out of 3 falls.

1961 - "Nature Boy" Buddy Rogers defeated Pat O'Connor in Chicago, Illinois to win the NWA (National Wrestling Alliance) World Heavyweight Wrestling

1967 - In Milwaukee; AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher in 2 out of 3 falls, Rene Goulet (sub Lou Thesz) beat Chris Markoff by countout, Big K (sub Ernie Ladd) beat Moose Cholak by dq and Dale Lewis drew Mitsu Arakawa.

1970 - In Chicago, Illinois; Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher & Ernie Ladd beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon & Blackjack Lanza, Baron Von Raschke beat Red Bastien, Mitsu Arakawa beat Paul Christy and Pepper Gomez beat Bob Windham.

1973 - Central States ran a Saturday night show at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri. Steve Bolus vs. The Terror, Mike George vs. Jim Dalton, Danny Little Bear & Hillbilly Vic vs. Roger Kirby & Lord Alfred Hayes, Lord Littlebrook vs. Tokyo Joe, The Sheik vs. Black Angus, Texas Death Match: Bob Brown vs. Bob Geigel, Central States Women’s Champion Jean Antone vs. Betty Niccoli, World Tag Team Champions Togo the Great & Tokyo Joe vs. Bobo Brazil & Rufus R. Jones and World Heavyweight Champion Harley Race vs. Dory Funk, Jr.; In Chicago; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher, Ernie Ladd no contest with Wahoo McDaniel, Sailor Art Thomas drew Jimmy Valiant and Baron Von Raschke beat Bull Bullinski.

1978 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; Verne Gagne beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens beat Evan Johnson & Steve Olsonoski, Jim Brunzell beat Bob Orton Jr and Super Destroyer Mark II beat Rufus R Jones. Attendance was 6,224.

1979 - Andre The Giant beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, Dick The Bruiser beat King Kong Brody by countout, Wilbur Snyder drew Bobby Duncum, Greg Gagne & Billy Robinson beat Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens, Bobo Brazil beat Paul Christy by dq and Steve Regal drew Jesse Ventura.

1985 - Hercules Hernandez defeated Hector Guerrero for the Florida State Heavyweight Title in Orlando.

1987 - In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Champion Curt Hennig beat Greg Gagne dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Boris Zhukov & Soldat Ustinov beat Wahoo McDaniel & DJ Peterson, In a Taped Fist match, Scott Ledoux beat Larry Zbyszko by count out, Tommy Rich beat Mr Magnificent Kevin Kelly and Original Midnight Express beat Nick Kiniski & JT Southern by dq.

2003 - Gail Kim won a Battle Royal for the WWE Women's Title

2008 - CM Punk defeated Edge to win the WWE World championship