Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 5): Eric Bischoff beats Terry Funk for WCW Hardcore title, Szabo wins NWA title from Nagurski

By Brian Hoops,

1941 - Sandor Szabo defeated Bronko Nagurski for the NWA World Heavyweight Wrestling Title in St. Louis, Missouri.

1947 - In Kansas City, Kansas; MWA World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown beat The Swedish Angel in 2 out of 3 falls. Also, Ralph Garibaldi Jack McDonald by third fall DQ, Tug Carlson beat Dan O’Connor and Jack Hader beat Jack Page.

1952 - In Kansas City, Kansas; The Duseks (Dick, Ernie and Joe Dusek) beat Steve Gob, Sonny Myers and Bob Orton Sr. in 2 out of 3 falls, Ronnie Etchison beat Tony Galento 2 out of 3 falls and Joe Dusek and Bob  Orton Sr. drew.

1958 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; Sonny Myers no contest with Otto Von Krupp, Thor Hagen and Joe Scarpa beat Bob Orton and Rip Hawk.

1967 - In Davenport, Iowa; Johnny Powers beat the Crusher in a Texas Death Match, AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Rene Goulet & Earl Maynard, and Jack Lanza beat Big K (Stan Kowalski).

1971 - In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon,
Strong Kobayashi beat Bull Bullinski and Nick Bockwinkel beat Paul Diamond. Attendance was 5,876.

1976 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; Larry Hennig & Jos Leduc beat Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke dq, Russ Francis & Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Bobby Heenan & Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum and Buddy Wolff beat Scott Irwin. Attendance was 5,262.

1977 - In Green Bay, Wisconsin; Ray Stevens beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel by DQ, Jim Brunzell & Billy Francis beat Angelo Mosca & Roger Kirby, Super Destroyer beat Pedro Morales and Bob Backlund wrestled to a draw with Billy Robinson.

1982 - In Rockford, Illinois; Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan beat Hulk Hogan & Baron Von Raschke, Rick Martel beat Bobby Heenan,
Ken Patera beat Brad Rheingans and Buck Zumhofe beat Sgt Goulet.

2000 - Eric Bischoff defeated Terry Funk for the WCW Hardcore Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

2001 - Jeff Hardy defeated Jerry Lynn for the WWF Light Heavyweight Title in Grand Folks, North Dakota.