Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: mass WCW title changes, Dusty Rhodes vs. Stan Hansen, Roddy Piper vs. Greg Valentine

By Brian Hoops,

1960 – Jerry & Eddie Graham defeated Red & Lou Bastien to win the NWA Northeast United States Tag Team Titles.

1964 - In Moline, Illinois; AWA World Tag Team Champions Dick the Bruiser & The Crusher defeated Verne Gagne & Wilbur Snyder

1977 - In the main event of an AWA show in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Verne Gagne & the Crusher beat AWA Tag Team Champions Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum with Bob Backlund as special referee. No title change occurred, however due to an illegal man being pinned.

1978 - In Macon, Georgia, Dusty Rhodes defeated Stan Hansen in the main event of a show for Georgia Championship Wrestling.

1983 - At the UIC Pavilion in Chicago; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Jerry Lawler. Also, Hulk Hogan & Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Ken Patera & Jesse Ventura & Bobby Heenan.

1983 - Roddy Piper defeated Greg Valentine to win the NWA United States Championship.

1994 - Wild Pegasus (Chris Benoit) defeated Great Sasuke to win the Super J Cup in Japan.

2000 - In Chicago, Illinois Chris Candido defeated The Artist, Juventud Guerrera, Shannon Moore, Lash Leroux and Crowbar to win the vacant WCW Cruiserweight Title. Also, Shane Douglas & Buff Bagwell defeated Ric Flair & Lex Luger to win the vacant WCW Tag Title, Scott Steiner defeated Sting to win the vacant U.S. Title and Jeff Jarrett defeated Diamond Dallas Page to win the vacant WCW World Title.