Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 13): Rick Martel wins AWA gold, Kurt Angle wins TNA title, Nash & Hall beat one man to win tag titles

By Brian Hoops,

1938 - Vic Christy defeated Don McIntyre to win the Montreal and Toronto World Heavyweight Titles in Buffalo, New York

1940 - The French Angel defeated Steve Casey for the Boston AWA World Heavyweight Title in Boston, Massachusetts

1954 - Dory Funk defeated Roy Shire for the Southwest Junior Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas; Ben and Mike Sharpe won the San Francisco NWA Pacific Coast Tag Team Title by defeating Ron Etchison and Enrique Torres in Stockton, California

1959 - Ed Francis defeated Al Lolotai for the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii

1960 - Rikidozan defeated Leo Nomellini to win the second-annual JWA World League Tournament; George and Sandy Scott defeated Emil and Ernie Dusek to win the Central States NWA World Tag Team Title in St. Joseph, Missouri

1963 - Karl and Skull Von Stroheim defeated Gino and Tony Calza to win the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1964 - Robert Duranton and Shag Thomas defeated Cowboy Cassidy and Curtis Iaukea for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1965 - The Assassins defeated Karl and Kurt Von Stroheim for the World Wrestling Association World Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California.

1966 - Giant Baba defeated Wilbur Snyder to win the eighth-annual JWA World League Tournament.

1968 - Don Carson and The Red Shadow defeated Dennis Hall and Ken Lucas to win the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1969 - Tony Borne and Moondog Mayne defeated Karl and Kurt Von Steiger to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1971 - Eddie Sullivan defeated Bob Kelly for the NWA Mississippi Heavyweight Title in Hattiesburg, Mississippi

1972 - Lars Anderson and Paul DeMarco defeated Pepper Gomez and Rocky Johnson for the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in San Francisco, California.

1973 - Hiro Tojo and Waldo Von Erich defeated Ron Miller and Larry O'Day to win the NWA Austra-Asian Tag Team Title in Sydney, Australia.

1975 - Dominic DeNucci and Victor Rivera defeated The Valiant Brothers (Jimmy and Johnny) for the WWWF World Tag Team Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Mike DuBois and Lord Alfred Hayes defeated The Beast and Johnny Weaver for the Eastern Sports Association International Tag Team Title in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

1975 - Dr. X defeated Ken Lucas for the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama

1976 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Bob Geigel & Akio Sato defeated Ed Wiskoski & Roger Kirby, Andre the Giant defeated Dory Funk, Jr. in a Texas Bull Rope Match: Mike George defeated Dusty Rhodes

1978 - Jerry Oates defeated Ed Wiskoski to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title; In Omaha, Nebraska; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Billy Robinson and Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens beat Rufus R Jones & Pat O'Connor and in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; The Crusher beat Angelo Mosca in a chain match and Verne Gagne beat Johnny Valiant.

1979 - In Green Bay, Wisconsin; Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon beat Nick Bockwinkel & Pat Patterson; Wahoo McDaniel defeated The Spoiler for the NWA American Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas

1983 - Harley Race defeated Jerry Blackwell in St. Louis, Missouri to win the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Title; Velvet McIntyre and Penny Mitchell defeated Joyce Grable and Wendi Richter to win the NWA World Women's Tag Team Title in Calgary, Alberta; The Great Tio defeated The Masked Miser (Angelo Poffo) to win the International Championship Wrestling Television Title in Beckley, West Virginia

1984 - Rick Martel defeated Jumbo Tsuruta to win the AWA World Heavyweight Title in St. Paul, Minnesota.

1985 - Randy Savage won the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title by defeating Jerry Oske in Memphis, Tennessee.

1988 - Barry Windham defeated Nikita Koloff to win the vacant NWA United States Heavyweight Title in a tournament final in Houston, Texas.

1991 - Robert Fuller and Jeff Jarrett defeated The Texas Hangmen (Killer and Psycho) for the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee. At the same event, Bill Dundee defeated Eric Embry to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title.

1995 - Doug Gilbert won the USWA Heavyweight Title by defeating Brian Lee in Memphis, Tennessee

1996 - Pimpinela Escarlata defeated La Parka for the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title in Nuevo Laredo, Mexico

2005 - Tom Prichard defeated Rick Steiner in Irondale, Alabama to win the NWA Alabama Heavyweight Title

2007 - Kurt Angle defeated TNA World Heavyweight Champion Christian Cage and Sting in a three-way match to win the title in Orlando, Florida.

2010 - Scott Hall and Kevin Nash defeated Matt Morgan to win the TNA Tag Team Titles. (Yes, they beat just Morgan.)

2012 - At the TNA Sacrifice PPV, Kazarian & Christopher Daniels defeated Samoa Joe & Magnus to win the TNA Tag Team Titles.