Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 15): Ric Flair wins WCW title, Brock Lesnar & Shelton Benjamin win OVW gold

By Brian Hoops,

1955 - George Dussette and Luther Lindsay defeated Bulldog Curtis and Tommy Martinez to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1957 - Ed Francis defeated Luigi Macera for the Pacific Coast Junior Heavyweight Title

1958 - Verne Gagne and Leo Nomellini defeated Doc and Mike Gallagher for the Minneapolis NWA World Tag Team Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

1963 - Rocket Monroe (Bill Fletcher) defeated Joe Scarpa (Jay Strongbow) and Pancho Villa in a three-way match to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama.

1965 - Mighty Igor Vodic defeated Mad Dog Vachon for the AWA World (Omaha version only) Heavyweight Title in Omaha, Nebraska

1970 - Mark Lewin and Antonio Pugliese defeated Swede Hanson and Rip Hawk to win the International Wrestling Alliance World Tag Team Title in Sydney, Australia; Donna Christantello and Kathy O'Day defeated The Fabulous Moolah and Toni Rose to win the NWA World Women's Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California.

1971 - Red Bastien and Hercules Cortez defeated Butcher and Mad Dog Vachon to win the AWA World Tag Team Title in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Also on the card, The Crusher beat Larry Hennig and Bull Bullinski beat Nick Bockwinkel via dq.

1972 - Boris Malenko defeated Bearcat Wright for the NWA Florida Brass Knuckles Title in Orlando, Florida

1973 - The California Hippies (Mike Boyette and Mickey Doyle) won the Gulf Coast NWA United States Tag Team Title in Mobile, Alabama

1975 - Paul Jones and Wahoo McDaniel defeated Gene and Ole Anderson to win the NWA World Tag Team Title in Greensboro, North Carolina.

1976 - In Chicago, Illinois; Dick the Bruiser beat Ox Baker in a Chain Match; In a Loser Leaves Town Match, Larry Hennig & Jos Leduc beat Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant and Greg Gagne beat Mad Dog Vachon via dq.

1976 - The Sheik defeated Bobo Brazil for the Detroit NWA United States Heavyweight Title in Detroit, Michigan; Tony Garea and Pat Patterson defeated Invader I and Don Muraco to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in San Francisco, California.

1978 - Gene Kiniski defeated John Quinn for the Vancouver NWA Pacific Coast Heavyweight Title in Vancouver, British Columbia; At Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Ontario; WWWF Champion Bob Backlund beat Billy Graham by countout and AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel went to a double disqualification with Jim Brunzell.

1982 - The Moondogs (Rex and Spot) defeated Eddie and Tommy Gilbert to win the WWC North American Tag Team Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

1986 - The Midnight Rockers (Marty Jannetty and Shawn Michaels) defeated The Batten Twins (Bart and Brad) to win the NWA Central States Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas

1993 - The Rock 'n' Roll Express (Robert Gibson and Ricky Morton) defeated The Heavenly Bodies (Stan Lane and Tom Prichard) in Johnson City, Tennessee for the SMW Tag Team Title.

1993 - In Cloverdale, British Columbia, Michelle Starr defeated Mighty Quinn for the WCCW Heavyweight Title, Al Tomko won the WCCW Mid-Heavyweight Title from Firefighter Adrian, and The Beautiful Bodies (Rocky Dellaserra and Ole Olson) defeated Firefighter Adrian and Timothy Flowers to win the WCCW International Tag Team Title.

1995 - Reggie Bennett defeated Manami Toyota for the IWA Women's World Title in Niigata, Japan.

2000 - Ric Flair defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion Jeff Jarrett to win the title in Biloxi, Mississippi.

2001 - The Minnesota Stretching Crew (Shelton Benjamin and Brock Lesnar) defeated The Disciples of Synn (Damian and Payne) to win the OVW Southern Tag Team Title in Louisville, Kentucky,

2002 - Nova defeated The Prototype (John Cena) for the OVW Heavyweight Title in Jeffersonville, Indiana.

2004 - In Lexington, Mass; CM Punk and Colt Cabana defeated Jay and Mark Briscoe to regain the ROH Tag Team championship; Hurácan Castillo, Jr. defeated José Rivera, Jr. for the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico.

2005 - At the Hard Justice PPV in Orlando, Florida; AJ Styles defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the NWA/TNA World Title.

2006 - During an edition of Raw, Shelton Benjamin won the Intercontinental Title in a three-on-two handicap Texas Tornado match featuring Benjamin, Chris Masters, and HHH vs. WWE Champion John Cena and then-IC champion Rob Van Dam with both titles on the line. Benjamin pinned RVD to win the title.

2011 - In Philadelphia, PA; Kenny Omega defeated Jushin Liger to win the JAPW Light Heavyweight championship. Also, IWGP Heavyweight champion Hiroshi Tanahashi retained the title over Davey Richards.