Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 27): Owen Hart wins IWGP gold, Jimmy Snuka wins WCCW belt

By Brian Hoops,

1887 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; William Muldoon failed to throw Evan Lewis twice in 60:00 (Muldoon won the first fall in 47:00, then gave up the match)

1956 - Doug and Red Donovan defeated Herb Freeman & Larry Chene for the Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1957 - Red Bastien ends the second NWA Texas Junior Heavyweight Title reign of Rito Romero in Fort Worth, Texas.

1959 - Eddie & Dr. Jerry Graham defeated Mark Lewin & Don Curtis for the WWWF Tag Team Title in Bridgeport, Connecticut.

1960 - Thor Hagen defeated Lee Henning to win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title in St. Joseph, Missouri.

1965 - In Kansas City, Kansas; The Mongolian Stomper beat Johnny Valentine, Bob Geigel and Dutch Savage beat Doug Gilbert and Ron Reed, Sonny Myers beat Buddy Johnson and the Missouri Mauler beat Steve Bolus.

1965 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; The Crusher beat Pampero Firpo in a cage match. Also on the card, Verne Gagne & Reggie Parks beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race by DQ, Chris Markoff beat Eddie Sharkey and Rene Goulet went to a draw with Tiny Mills.

1966 - In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Verne Gagne & Wilbur Snyder beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race. However, the decision was later reversed as the wrong man was pinned. Also on the card, The Crusher beat Chris Markoff and Ernie Ladd beat Moose Cholak.

1967 - Billy and Jimmy Hines won the Mid-America version of the NWA World Tag Team Title by defeating The Blue Infernos in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

1968 - Ken Lucas & Dennis Hall defeated Don Carson & The Red Shadow for the Mid-America version of the NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1971 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; Steve Bolus & The Viking defeated Baron Von Raschke & Benny Ramirez, Rufus R. Jones defeated The Great Sakaguchi by count out, Harley Race defeated Danny Little Bear in three falls and Buddy Austin & Bob Orton defeated The Stomper & Bob Geigel.

1974 - Mr. X (Guy Mitchell) & The Brute defeated Leo Madril & Dan Kroffat to win the Vancouver version of the NWA Canadian Tag Team Title in Vancouver, British Columbia.

1976 - Jackie West & Yukari Lynch defeated The Beauty Pair (Jackie Sato & Maki Ueda) for the World Women's Wrestling Association World Tag Team Title in Kawasaki, Japan.

1977 - Jimmy Snuka defeated El Gran Goliath in Houston, Texas for the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title.

1978 - Carlos Colon & Chief Thunder Cloud defeated The Hollywood Blondes (Jack Evans & Larry Sharpe) for the WWC North American Tag Team Title in Bayamon, Puerto Rico

1985 - At the Forum in Montreal; Jos Leduc & Rick Martel beat Road Warrior Animal & Paul Ellering via dq, Abdullah the Butcher beat King Tonga, Dino Bravo beat Richard Charland and Jacques Rougeau, Jr. beat Jim Garvin via dq.

1988 - Owen Hart defeated Hiroshi Hase in Sendai, Japan to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title.

1989 - Steve Strong defeated Carlos Colon to win the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

1990 - Villano III defeated Sangre Chicana for the WWF World Light Heavyweight Title in Naucalpan, Mexico.

1997 - Kenta Kobashi & Johnny Ace defeated Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Title in Sapporo, Japan

2001 - D'Lo Brown & Shane defeated The Starr Corporation (Chicky Starr & Victor the Bodyguard) and Los Boricuas (Miguel Perez Jr. & Jesus Castillo, Jr.) for the IWA World Tag Team Title in Puerto Rico

2006 - 1 Pro Wrestling holds "Know Your Enemy: Night 2" in Doncaster, England. Jonny Storm and Jody Fleisch defeated A.J. Styles and Christopher Daniels to become the first-ever 1PW Tag Team Champions. Also, Steve Corino defeated champion Abyss and Christian Cage in a three-way match to win the 1PW World Heavyweight Title.