Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 29): Terry Funk and Nick Bockwinkel go to a draw, Jarrett beats Flair for WCW title, Charlotte wins NXT gold

By Brian Hoops,

1962 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; Pat O'Connor beat AWA Champion Mr. M via dq and Doug Gilbert went to a draw with Bob Geigel.

1965 - At the Armory in St. Paul, Minnesota; The Crusher beat Harley Race in 2 out of 3 falls and Rene Goulet beat Kurt Von Brauner

1968 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Luke Brown, Harley Race beat Bill Watts by dq, Larry Hennig beat Rene Goulet and Dutch Savage beat Rock Rogowski (Ole Anderson).

1977 - In Houston, Texas at the Summit; Terry Funk went to a draw with AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel (sub Harley Race), Fritz Von Erich drew with Bruiser Brody, Bruno Sammartino beat Mike York and Jose Lothario went to a draw with AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel. Race was to defend the NWA World Title but wrestled a double shot that afternoon and was not at the building in time to wrestle, so Bockwinkel wrestled Funk in his place.

1983 - At the Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Canada; Leo Burke defeated North American Champion Johnny Weaver to win the title,
WWF Intercontinental Champion Don Muraco defeated Rocky Johnson and NWA World Champion Ric Flair pinned NWA U.S. Champion Greg Valentine.

1988 - At the Mid-South Coliseum in Memphis, Tennessee; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Dutch Mantel, Jeff Jarrett & Great Senshi beat Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden by count out, CWA Champion Brickhouse Brown beat Bill Dundee via dq, Scott Steiner & Billy Travis beat Cuban Choir Boys to win Southern Tag Title and AWA Tag Team Champions Badd Company (Pat Tanaka & Paul Diamond) beat Gary Young & Don Bass.

1995 - Brian Christopher defeated Doug Gilbert for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

2000 - Jeff Jarrett defeated WCW World Champion Ric Flair to win the WCW World Title in Salt Lake City, Utah; Too Cool defeated WWF Tag Team Champions Edge & Christian to win the titles in Vancouver, British Columbia.

2014 - At NXT Takeover in Winter Park, Florida; Charlotte defeated Natalya to win the NXT Women's Title.