Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 6): Verne Gagne vs. Danny Hodge, 1st annual Von Erich Parade of Champions show

By Brian Hoops,

1921 - Stanislaus Zbyszko defeated Ed "Strangler" Lewis in New York City, New York to win the World Heavyweight Title

1938 - Don McIntyre defeated Vic Christy for the Montreal World Heavyweight Title in Buffalo, New York.

1946 - Al Szasz defeated Paavo Ketonnen to win the Pacific Coast Light Heavyweight Title in Portland, Oregon

1953 - Killer Kowalski defeated Verne Gagne to win the Montreal World Heavyweight Title in Montreal, Quebec; Leo Nomellini and Enrique Torres defeated Ben and Mike Sharpe for the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in San Francisco, California.

1958 - Black Hawk and Nelson Royal defeated Doug Donovan and Bill Savage for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1960 - Ed Francis and Bill Savage defeated Tony Borne and Shag Thomas to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title

1965 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; Dick the Bruiser defeated Pat O’Connor in three falls.

1966 - Alberto and Enrique Torres defeated The Mysterious Medics to win the vacant Georgia NWA Southern Tag Team Title in a one night tournament final in Atlanta, Georgia.

1967 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; AWA Champion Verne Gagne wrestled to a no contest with Danny Hodge and The Crusher & Lou Thesz wrestled to a no contest with AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race.

1969 - Alberto and Ramon Torres defeated Treach Phillips and Karl Von Stroheim for the Tri-State NWA United States Tag Team Title in Little Rock, Arkansas.

1971 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; The Viking defeated Harley Race via DQ and The Stomper defeated Baron Von Raschke.

1974 - Rip Tyler defeated Bob Sweetan in Shreveport, Louisiana to win the NWA Tri-State Brass Knuckles Title.

1976 - Bob Kelly defeated Duke Miller for the NWA Mississippi Heavyweight Title in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

1977 - In St. Louis, Missouri; Missouri State Champion Jack Brisco beat Ivan Koloff; Dick the Bruiser went to a no contest with WWWF Champion Superstar Billy Graham; AWA Tag Team Champions Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum beat Pat O'Connor & Rocky Johnson;
Billy Robinson beat Bulldog Bob Brown via dq; Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Lord Alfred Hayes & Bull Bullinski and
Bulldog Bob Brown beat Jerry Kozak

1978 - Carlos Colón defeated Ox Baker in Bayamón, Puerto Rico to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title. At the same event, The Hollywood Blondes (Jack Evans and Larry Sharpe) defeated Victor Jovica and Chief Thundercloud for the WWC North American Tag Team Title and Hurácan Castillo and Pierre Martel win the WWC World Tag Team Title from Invader I and José Rivera.

1980 - Masa Saito defeated Steve Keirn for the NWA Florida Television Title in Tampa, Florida.

1982 - Black Tiger (Marc Rocco) defeated Gran Hamada for the WWF Junior Heavyweight Title in Fukuoka, Japan; Joyce Grable and Wendi Richter defeated Princess Victoria and Sabrina to win the NWA Women's World Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Missouri.

1982 - King Kamaka and Baron Von Krupp defeated Mark Lewin and Steve Rickard for the NWA Australian Tag Team Title in Auckland, New Zealand.

1984 - At the first annual Von Erich Memorial Parade of Champions event at Texas Stadium, Rock 'n' Soul (King Parsons and Buck Zumhofe) defeated WCCW American Tag Team Champions The Super Destoyers I and II, (Bill and Scott Irwin)  Also, Fritz, Kevin and Mike Von Erich defeated WCCW Six-Man Tag Team Champions The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes and Buddy Roberts) to win the title. And, Kerry Von Erich defeated NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair to win the title; King Kong Bundy and The Masked Superstar defeated The Road Warriors (Animal and Hawk) to win the NWA National Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia; Crusher Lisowski and Baron Von Raschke defeated The Sheiks (Jerry Blackwell and Ken Patera) for the AWA World Tag Team Title in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

1988 - Makhan Singh defeated Owen Hart to win the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta,

1990 - Matt Derringer defeated The Lightning Kid (Sean Waltman) for the Pro Wrestling America Light Heavyweight Title in Barron, Wisconsin

1994 - Jack Steel defeated Scott D'Amore to win the Border City Wrestling Can-Am Heavyweight Title in North Bay, Ontario; The Mongolian Stomper defeated Mike Samson for the Southern States Wrestling Heavyweight Title in Fall Branch, Tennessee.

2002 - During an episode of Monday Night Raw from Hartford, CT, William Regal defeated Spike Dudley to capture the European Title.