Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 7): Jeff Jarrett ends David Arquette's WCW title reign, Nick Bockwinkel vs. Ray Stevens,

By Brian Hoops, Wrestling Observer

1914 - Stanislaus Zbyszko defeated Americus (Gus Schoenlein) to win the World Heavyweight Title in Kansas City, Missouri.

1948 - Danny McShain defeated Miguel Guzmán for the Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas

1954 - Bull Curry defeated Ray Gunkel to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas

1955 - Lord James Blears and Gene Kiniski defeated Ben and Mike Sharpe for the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title

1956 - Larry Chene and Herb Freeman defeated Jack O'Reilly and Kurt Von Poppenheim to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1970 - Jerry Christy defeated Abdullah the Butcher for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Albert; Terry Funk defeated Ricky Romero for the NWA Western States Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas; AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat Verne Gagne & the Crusher in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

1975 - George Gulas and Jerry Jarrett defeated Don and Ron Wright for the NWA Tennessee Tag Team Title in Nashville, Tennessee. At the same event, Luke Graham won the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title from Don Kent; Giant Baba & Samson Kutsuwada defeated WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino & Mike George in Enu, Japan.

1976 - The Super Destroyer defeated The Mighty Canadian (Gene Kiniski) to win the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas

1977 - José Miguel Perez defeated Hurácan Castillo in a tournament final for the vacant WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title in Bayamón, Puerto Rico; WWWF World Champion Superstar Billy Graham defeated Billy White Wolf (Sheik Adnan El Kassey) in the main event of a WWWF event in New Haven, CT; In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Ray Stevens.

1979 - Bill Dundee and Robert Fuller defeated The Assassins in a loser leaves town match in Memphis, Tennessee to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title; Blackjack Mulligan won the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title from Dory Funk, Jr. in Odessa, Texas.

1981 - Rufus R. Jones defeated Bobby Jaggers for the NWA Central States Television Title in Kansas City, Kansas

1982 - Timothy Flowers and Adrian Street defeated Chris Adams and Ringo Rigsby to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title.

1984 - World Class Championship Wrestling ran Fort Worth, Texas, headlined by NWA World champion Kerry Von Erich pinning Terry Gordy. Also, Killer Khan defeated Kelly Kiniski for the World Class Television Title; Tommy Gilbert defeated Johnny Rich to win the NWA Southeast United States Junior Heavyweight Title in Birmingham, Alabama; In Montreal, Canada; Dino Bravo & Rick Martel beat Abdullah the Butcher & Jerry Blackwell and AWA Champion Jumbo Tsuruta beat Nick Bockwinkel via dq.

1985 - Jerry Oske defeated Randy Savage to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Louisville, Kentucky.

1986 - Jim Crockett Promotions ran Rhonda, NC, headlined by The Rock N' Roll Express defeated NWA World Tag Team champions The Midnight Express in a non-title match.

1988 - The Southern Rockers (Steve Doll and Scott Peterson) defeated Avalanche (P.N. News) and Mike Golden to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Portland, Oregon,

1989 -At the WCW "Music City Showdown" PPV in Nashville, Tenn., Ric Flair pinned NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ricky Steamboat to win the title. After the match, Terry Funk attacked Flair after Flair turned down a future title match with him, piledriving him on a ringside table. Flair would be "out of action" until the July 1989 Great American Bash PPV against Funk. Also, Michael Hayes pinned NWA United States Heavyweight Champion Lex Luger to win the title.

1999 - Nick Dinsmore defeated Rob Conway to win his third OVW Heavyweight Title in New Albany, Indiana.

2000 - At the final WCW Slamboree event, Jeff Jarrett defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion David Arquette and Diamond Dallas Page in a triple-tier steel cage match to win the title in Kansas City, Missouri.

2003 - At a TNA weekly PPV in Nashville, Tennessee; Christopher Daniels defeated Jerry Lynn & Amazing Red in a handicap match to win the NWA World Tag Team Championship.