Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Vince wins ECW title, Bockwinkel & Stevens vs. Superstar Graham & Dusty Rhodes

By Brian Hoops,

1965 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Doug Gilbert defeated Bob Brown; Sonny Myers defeated The Red Raider; Bob Geigel defeated Don Soto; Johnny Valentine defeated Steve Bolus; Pat O’Connor defeated Art Neilson and The Missouri Mauler defeated Ron Reed via DQ in three falls.

1966 - In Denver, Colorado; Ernie Ladd & Wahoo McDaniel beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race on a 3rd fall dq;
The Crusher defeated Chris Tolos; Dick The Bruiser defeated Dory Funk and Verne Gagne beat Bill Melby

1975 - In Omaha, Nebraska; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Superstar Billy Graham & Dusty Rhodes in a 2 out of 3 falls match (special referee was Khosrow Vaziri (Iron Sheik) and Greg Gagne beat Paul Perschmann (Playboy Buddy Rose).

1996 - Shinya Hashimoto defeated Nobuhiko Takada for the IWGP Heavyweight Title in Tokyo, Japan. At the same event, Great Sasuke
defeated Jushin Liger to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title. Shinya Hashimoto defeated Nobuhiko Takada via submission to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title.

2000 - Sabu defeated The Messiah for the vacant XPW Heavyweight Title in California.

2001 - At the WWF Backlash PPV in Chicago, Jerry Lynn won the WWF Light Heavyweight Title from Crash Holly. Also, Triple H and Steve Austin won the WWF World Tag Team Titles from Kane and the Undertaker.

2007 - At the Backlash PPV; Shane McMahon, Vince McMahon and Umaga defeated ECW Champion Bobby Lashley. As a result, Vince became new ECW Champion.

2012 - At the Extreme Rules PPV; Cody Rhodes defeated Big Show in a tables match to win the Intercontinental Title.