Skip to main content

On This Day In Pro Wrestling Title Change History: Daniel Bryan wins it all, Abdullah vs. Jumbo, Bill Dundee, Rocky Johnson

By Brian Hoops,

1945 - Dean Detton defeated Vincent Lopez for the San Francisco Pacific Coast Heavyweight Title in San Francisco, California.

1966 - Chief Little Eagle defeated Eduardo Perez to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title

1970 - Al Greene and Frank Martinez defeated Johnny Walker and Tojo Yamamoto in a tournament final in Memphis, Tennessee to win the vacant Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title.

1974 - Ken Lucas defeated The Wrestling Pro for the NWA Alabama Heavyweight Title in New Brocton, Alabama

1979 - Abdullah the Butcher defeated Jumbo Tsuruta to win the annual AJPW Champion's Carnival tournament; Dory Funk, Jr. and Terry Funk defeated The Invaders (I and II) for the WWC World Tag Team Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico; Jake Roberts defeated Big Daddy Ritter (Junkyard Dog) for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta. Also, Leo Burke and Bruce Hart win the Stampede International Tag Team Title from Mr. Hito and Mr. Sakurada

1980 - The Junkyard Dog and Buck Robley defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy and Michael Hayes) for the Mid-South Tag Team Title in Monroe, Louisiana.

1981 - Bill Dundee and The Dream Machine won the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee, defeating Masa Fuchi and Mr (Atsushi) Onita.

1987 - Rocky Johnson and Soul Train Jones (Virgil) defeated Big Bubba (Typhoon/Tugboat) and Goliath in Memphis, Tennessee for the AWA Southern Tag Team Title.

1991 - Dave Taylor defeated Dave Finlay for the British Heavyweight Title in King's Lynn, England; The British Bulldogs (The Dynamite Kid and Johnny Smith) defeated Kenta Kobashi and Tsuyoshi Kikuchi (subbing for the injured Johnny Ace) to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan.

1996 - The Canadian Glamour Boys (Sean Morley and Shane Sewell) defeated Huracán Castillo, Jr. and Ray Gonzalez for the WWC World Tag Team Title

2002 - Eddie Colón won the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title from Rey Misterio, Jr. in Caguas, Puerto Rico. At the same event, Rico Suave defeated Ricky Santana for the WWC World Television Title; El Lobo defeated Super Crazy in Carolina, Puerto Rico to win the IWA Intercontinental Heavyweight Title.

2005 - Chris Hero defeated Mike Quackenbush in Dunbar, West Virginia to win the IWA East Coast Heavyweight Championship.

2014 - At Wrestlemania XXX in New Orleans, Louisiana; Daniel Bryan won the WWE World Title by defeating Randy Orton and Batista and Brock Lesnar defeated The Undertaker to end the Undertaker's undefeated streak at Wrestlemania.