Skip to main content

On This Day In Pro Wrestling Title Change History: Hulk Hogan vs. Randy Savage, Ricky Steamboat vs. Ric Flair

By Brian Hoops for

1989 --

At Clash of the Champions VI in New Orleans, Mike Rotunda & Steve Williams defeated The Road Warriors to win the NWA World Tag Team Championship and NWA World Champion Ricky Steamboat defeated Ric Flair in a 2 out of three falls match

At Wrestlemania V in Atlantic City, New Jersey, Hulk Hogan defeated Randy Savage to win the WWF World Title.

1995 --

At Wrestlemania XI in Hartford, CT, Owen Hart & surprise partner Yokozuna defeated The Smoking Gunns to win the WWF World Tag Team Title, Bret Hart defeated Bob Backlund in an I Quit match and WWF World Champion Diesel defeated Shawn Michaels. 

2000 --

At Wrestlemania 2000 in Anaheim, CA, Edge & Christian defeated The Hardys and The Dudleys in a ladder match to win the WWF World Tag Team Championship, Chris Benoit won the Intercontinental Title and Chris Jericho won the European Title in a two fall match with Kurt Angle, who entered the match holding both titles and Triple H defeated The Rock, Mick Foley and The Big Show in a Four Way Elimination Match to retain the WWF World Title.

2006 -- At Wrestlemania 22 in Chicago, Illinois, WWE Champion John Cena defeated Triple H, Rob Van Dam won the Money In The Bank Match, and JBL defeated Chris Benoit to win the United States Title.