Skip to main content

MLW to crown inaugural National Openweight Champion


A new championship is coming to MLW in June.

MLW announced today that the promotion is introducing a National Championship. It will be an openweight title, featuring wrestlers from the middleweight, heavyweight, and super heavyweight divisions.

The inaugural National Champion will be crowned at MLW's television tapings at the Waukesha County Expo Center in Waukesha, Wisconsin on Saturday, June 1. There will be four wrestlers in the National title tournament, with the two semifinal matches airing over the next several weeks leading into the finals taking place at the Wisconsin show.

“The new championship means bigger fights with greater regularity,” MLW's Court Bauer hyped the National title in a press release.

This will be the fourth active title in MLW, joining the World Heavyweight, Middleweight, and Tag Team Championships. Tom Lawlor is the World Champion, Teddy Hart holds the Middleweight title, and the Hart Foundation (Teddy Hart & Davey Boy Smith Jr.) are the Tag Team Champions.