Skip to main content

New NWA TV Champion crowned on Primetime Live


A new NWA Television Champion was crowned on this week's edition of UWN Primetime Live.

The Pope (Elijah Burke) defeated Zicky Dice on Tuesday's Primetime Live to win the NWA TV title. The Pope overcame a pre-match attack by Dice and was able to get the win before the 6:05 time limit expired.

The Pope is the third wrestler to hold the NWA TV title since it was reintroduced this January. Ricky Starks and Dice are the former champions.

"Shout out to @nwa President @Billy for giving Pope an opportunity to accomplish this great achievement," The Pope wrote about his title win. "Shout out to The Congregation for always believing such a day would come. Thank You All! ~PHS #NWA #TVChampion #NWAPowerrr #Pope4TheGold"

The NWA has partnered with the United Wrestling Network for the weekly Primetime Live pay-per-view series. There's been one other NWA title change on the series since it debuted in September, with Trevor Murdoch defeating Aron Stevens to win the NWA National Championship.

In an Instagram post last month, Billy Corgan gave an update on the status of NWA Power. Corgan wrote that they're currently talking about bringing the weekly series back very soon, even if fans can't be in attendance yet.