Skip to main content

The Briscoes win NWA Crockett Cup tournament

The Briscoes defeated The Commonwealth Connection to win this year's tournament.
The Briscoes

The Briscoes are the winners of the 2022 NWA Crockett Cup tournament.

Jay and Mark Briscoe defeated The Commonwealth Connection (Doug Williams and Harry Smith) to win the tournament. The finish of the match had Smith dumped out of the ring, with Jay hitting the Jay Driller and Mark scoring the pinfall after the froggy bow. The two teams shook hands after the match.

The Commonwealth Connection had defeated NWA World Tag Team Champions La Rebelion (Bestia 666 and Mecha Wolf) to advance to the finals, while The Briscoes defeated The Cardonas (Mike Knox and VSK).

The Crockett Cup tournament began in 1986 with The Road Warriors winning the inaugural tournament. The Super Powers (Nikita Koloff and Dusty Rhodes) won in 1987, and the team of Sting & Lex Luger won in 1988. It wasn’t until 2019 that Billy Corgan’s NWA resurrected the tournament, with Villain Enterprises (Brody King and PCO) winning the tournament in 2019. A tournament was scheduled for 2020, but was canceled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.