Skip to main content

Demian Maia vs. Carlos Condit to headline UFC On FOX 21

Maia vs Condit.jpg

A battle between perinnial welterweight contenders Demian Maia (23-6, 17-6 UFC) and Carlos Condit (30-9, 7-5 UFC) will headline in a five-round bout in the UFC's return to Vancouver on August 27 for UFC On FOX 21. The UFC announced the news on Tuesday after an initial report by Canadian sportswriter Neil Davidson.

Maia and Condit were scheduled to meet at UFC 202 on August 20, but the bout was shifted to a week later as the Vancouver card was still searching for a main event.

Condit, a former Interim UFC Welterweight Champion, returns following a "Fight Of The Year" candidate bout against Robbie Lawler for the UFC Welterweight Championship at UFC 195 in January. Condit lost the fight by a razor-thin split decision, and talked about retirement following the bout. The retirement talk can wait as he looks to get another title shot.

Maia will enter the bout having won five straight fights and is coming off a dominating submission win over Matt Brown at UFC 198 in May. During his current streak, he also has scored wins over Gunnar Nelson, Neil Magny, Ryan LaFlare and Alexander Yakovlev. A sixth straight win over Condit could secure Maia his first title shot since moving down to 170 pounds.

In addition to the annoucement of the Maia vs. Condit main event, the UFC announced three additional bouts. Sam Alvey will fight for the third time in just over two months as he takes on Kevin Casey in a middleweight bout, Shane Campbell will welcome the debuting Felipe Silva in a lightweight bout, and a middleweight bout between newcomers Adam Hunter and Ryan Janes.

UFC On FOX 21 takes place on August 27 from the Rogers Arena in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Tickets for the event go on sale this week, and the card is as follows:

  • Demian Maia vs. Carlos Condit
  • Anthony Pettis vs. Charles Oliveira
  • Jim Miller vs. Joe Lauzon
  • Paige VanZant vs. Bec Rawlings
  • Enrique Barzola vs. Kyle Bochniak
  • Chad Laprise vs. Thibault Gouti
  • Sam Alvey vs. Kevin Casey
  • Shane Campbell vs. Felipe Silva
  • Garreth McLellan vs. Alessio di Chirico
  • Ryan Janes vs. Adam Hunter