Skip to main content

WWE SummerSlam sees five title changes


Many of WWE’s titles changed hands tonight as five champions lost their titles to their respective challengers at SummerSlam.

The night began with a few pre-show title bouts, with Neville regaining the Cruiserweight title from Akira Tozawa, who had just won the title this past Monday on Raw. The Usos also regained the SmackDown tag team titles, defeating The New Day.

On the main card, Natalya defeated Naomi to win the SmackDown women’s title, with Carmella staying away after teasing a Money in the Bank cash-in for the last few weeks. Sasha Banks, who replaced an injured Bayley, ended up winning the title by submitting Alexa Bliss. To cap things off, Dean Ambrose and Seth Rollins captured the Raw tag team titles, defeating Sheamus and Cesaro.

Not every title switched hands, however. The last three matches of the show had champions retaining their titles. AJ Styles successfully retained the United States title against Kevin Owens, Jinder Mahal retained the WWE title by pinning Shinsuke Nakamura, and in the main event Brock Lesnar withstood Samoa Joe, Roman Reigns and Braun Strowman to retain the Universal title.