Skip to main content

Best WWE Moment category added to ESPY Awards


WWE is getting its own category at this year's ESPY Awards.

ESPN revealed the nominees and opened up fan voting for the awards today. There's a WWE-specific category for the first time ever, with four nominees vying for the Best WWE Moment of the year award.

The nominees are: Roman Reigns returning to Raw and announcing that his leukemia is in remission, Becky Lynch defeating Ronda Rousey and Charlotte Flair to win the Raw and SmackDown Women's titles in the main event of WrestleMania 35, Kofi Kingston defeating Daniel Bryan to win the WWE Championship at WrestleMania 35, and Ronda Rousey defeating Alexa Bliss at SummerSlam 2018 to win her first title in professional wrestling.

There's also a Best MMA Fighter category at the ESPYS for the first time. The UFC's Daniel Cormier, Amanda Nunes, Henry Cejudo, and Israel Adesanya are nominated for the award.

MMA fighters and boxers were previously both represented in the Best Fighter award.

The ESPYS celebrate the past year across sports. This year's ceremony is being hosted by Tracy Morgan. It's taking place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California on Wednesday, July 10 and will air live on ABC at 8 p.m. Eastern time.