Skip to main content

Damage CTRL crowned new WWE Women's Tag Team Champions

IYO SKY and Dakota Kai won the titles on Monday's Raw in Portland, Oregon.

Damage CTRL's IYO SKY and Dakota Kai are the new WWE Women's Tag Team Champions. 

Damage CTRL defeated Raquel Rodriguez and Aliyah on Monday's Raw to win the titles after Kai pinned Aliyah with a Kai-Ropractor.  

Monday's match was a rematch of the tournament finals from two weeks ago where Rodriguez and Aliyah won the vacant titles by defeating SKY and Kai. Kai was pinned in the match but was not the legal competitor, setting up the rematch. 

Kai had twice previously won the NXT Women's Tag Team Championship with Rodriguez as her partner, and SKY had also captured the NXT Tag titles with Zoey Stark on one occasion, but this is the first main roster title win for both competitors. SKY is also a one-time NXT Women's Champion. 

Kai and SKY returned to the company at SummerSlam in July, making their main roster debuts alongside Bayley as the three formed the Damage CTRL group. Kai had been released in April of this year, while SKY was believed to still be under contract, but considering not renewing her deal if she were earmarked to remain in NXT.