Skip to main content

Four more participants set for WWE Mae Young Classic

With four more participants being announced today, 19 of the 32 wrestlers for this summer's Mae Young Classic have now been confirmed.

Zeuxis, Isla Dawn, Lacey Lane, and Karen Q were added to the lineup for the Mae Young Classic during the most recent round of announcements. The tournament will be taped at Full Sail University on August 8 and 9, with the finals taking place at WWE's Evolution pay-per-view at the Nassau Coliseum in Long Island, New York on October 28.

Zeuxis is from Puerto Rico and recently left CMLL. She defeated Princesa Sugehit, who made it to the second round of the inaugural Mae Young Classic, in a mask vs. mask match at last year's CMLL anniversary show.

Dawn is Scottish and is part of WWE's United Kingdom division. She wrestled on the first night of last month's WWE UK shows at Royal Albert Hall, losing a triple threat match that saw Toni Storm win and go on to unsuccessfully challenge for Shayna Baszler's NXT Women's Championship the next night.

Lane was introduced as part of the newest group of WWE Performance Center signees earlier this month. She played division two basketball while in college, was trained at The Dudley Boyz's Team 3D Academy, and is a former Women's Champion for The Crash Lucha Libre.

Karen Q currently wrestles on the indies and is part of ROH's Women of Honor division. She took part in a WWE tryout at the Performance Center last October.

Here's the updated list of participants for the 2018 Mae Young Classic:

  • Kaitlyn
  • Rhea Ripley
  • Io Shirai
  • Nicole Matthews
  • Jinny
  • Kacy Catanzaro
  • Deonna Purrazzo
  • Tegan Nox (formerly known as Nixon Newell)
  • Jessie Elaban
  • Reina Gonzalez
  • Taynara Conti (won a qualifying match at NXT TV tapings)
  • Mia Yim
  • Mercedes Martinez
  • Kavita Devi
  • Killer Kelly
  • Zeuxis
  • Isla Dawn
  • Lacey Lane
  • Karen Q