Skip to main content

KOPW participants set for NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 15 night two


The four participants for tomorrow’s match for the provisional KOPW trophy have been set.

Toru Yano, Bad Luck Fale, Chase Owens, and BUSHI all qualified tonight to take part in the four-way match that will take place on the January 5 Wrestle Kingdom 15 card. The winner of that match will start the year as the provisional 2021 KOPW champion.

The finish of tonight’s match had Fale last eliminating young lions Gabriel Kidd, Yuya Uemura, and Yota Tsuji. Yano was the last person to enter the rumble. He never made it to the ring, however, as Fale’s eliminations marked the end of the match. Yano taunted his future opponents after the match ended as he made his exit.

Yano became the 2020 KOPW champion on the December 23 Road to Tokyo Dome card, defeating Bad Luck Fale. Per the championship’s stipulations, the person to hold the trophy at the end of the year officially becomes the KOPW champion for that year. The trophy is then reset, and a new match determines the provisional champion for 2021.