Skip to main content

SmackDown tag title match official for WWE SummerSlam


The SmackDown Tag Team Championship match for SummerSlam is now official.

It will be The New Day challenging for The Bludgeon Brothers' titles at the August 19 pay-per-view. New Day were confirmed as Harper & Rowan's challengers when Big E & Kofi Kingston defeated Cesaro & Sheamus in the SmackDown tag team tournament finals tonight.

New Day defeated SAnitY in the first round of the four-team tournament, while Cesaro & Sheamus beat The Usos.

The Bludgeon Brothers were also back in action on SmackDown this week. In their first televised match since retaining against Daniel Bryan & Kane at Extreme Rules last month, Harper & Rowan squashed an enhancement team.

The updated SummerSlam card is listed below:

  • Universal Champion Brock Lesnar defending against Roman Reigns
  • Raw Women's Champion Alexa Bliss defending against Ronda Rousey
  • WWE Champion AJ Styles defending against Samoa Joe
  • Daniel Bryan vs. The Miz
  • SmackDown Women's Champion Carmella defending against Becky Lynch and Charlotte Flair in a triple threat match
  • Intercontinental Champion Dolph Ziggler defending against Seth Rollins
  • United States Champion Shinsuke Nakamura defending against Jeff Hardy
  • Braun Strowman vs. Kevin Owens (If Owens wins, he gets Strowman's Money in the Bank briefcase)
  • Finn Balor vs. Baron Corbin
  • SmackDown Tag Team Champions The Bludgeon Brothers defending against The New Day
  • WWE Cruiserweight Champion Cedric Alexander defending against Drew Gulak