Skip to main content

Sue Aitchison to receive 2019 WWE Warrior Award


A longtime WWE employee will be receiving the Warrior Award at this year's Hall of Fame ceremony.

WWE announced today that Sue Aitchison is the winner of this year's Warrior Award. The award "is presented to an individual who has exhibited unwavering strength and perseverance and who lives life with the courage and compassion that embodies the indomitable spirit of The Ultimate Warrior."

Aitchison has worked for WWE for more than 30 years and is the company's director of community relations. WWE notes that Aitchison is credited with spearheading their community outreach programs, including WWE's relationship with the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

Aitchison was honored with Make-A-Wish's Chris Greicius Celebrity Award in 2006.

“I’m so humbled -- just thinking about this honor is emotional,” Aitchison told the Stamford Advocate. “Giving back is part of WWE’s philosophy. This is something we do and always want to do well.”

“Sue has dedicated her entire career to helping Wish kids fulfill their dreams and putting smiles on countless families’ faces. Her heart and character epitomize the essence of the Warrior Award,” Stephanie McMahon said. “She is an unsung hero who deserves to be recognized and immortalized in the WWE Hall of Fame.”

Dana Warrior will present the award to Aitchison at the Hall of Fame ceremony, which is taking place at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on Saturday, April 6. D-Generation X (Triple H, Shawn Michaels, Chyna, X-Pac, Road Dogg & Billy Gunn), Honky Tonk Man, Torrie Wilson, and Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) have been announced for this year's Hall of Fame class.

Connor "The Crusher" Michalek posthumously received the inaugural Warrior Award in 2015. Joan Lunden, Eric LeGrand, and Jarrius "JJ" Robertson have been Warrior Award recipients over the past three years.