Skip to main content

Three matches set for WWE SummerSlam pre-show


Ahead of tonight's pay-per-view, WWE has announced three matches for the SummerSlam pre-show.

Drew Gulak will defend the Cruiserweight Championship against Oney Lorcan, Women's Tag Team Champions Alexa Bliss & Nikki Cross will defend their titles against Peyton Royce & Billie Kay, and Apollo Crews will face Buddy Murphy.

Bliss & Cross vs. The IIconics and Crews vs. Murphy are new additions to SummerSlam, while Gulak vs. Lorcan had already been set for tonight's card.

Bliss & Cross became Women's Tag Team Champions by defeating Royce & Kay, Mandy Rose & Sonya Deville, and Asuka & Kairi Sane in a fatal four-way elimination match on Raw last week. Royce & Kay were the champions heading into the match but were eliminated first.

WWE has already announced that Asuka & Sane will challenge for the Women's Tag Team titles on tomorrow's post-SummerSlam episode of Raw.

The Roman Reigns mystery attacker angle continued on SmackDown last week, with Murphy accusing Rowan of being the person who attacked Reigns. Reigns beat Murphy down until Murphy would give him an answer.

Tonight's two-hour pre-show begins at 5 p.m. Eastern time. The PPV is taking place at the Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.