Skip to main content

WWE crowns new SmackDown Tag Team Champions


Image: WWE

Dolph Ziggler & Robert Roode are the new SmackDown Tag Team Champions.

On SmackDown tonight, Ziggler & Roode defeated The Street Profits to win the SmackDown Tag Team titles. Ziggler & Roode got the win after hitting a spinebuster into a Zig-Zag on Montez Ford.

In storyline, Ford's leg was hurt going into the match after Ziggler & Roode attacked The Street Profits during their "New Year’s Day Smoke-Tacular" on SmackDown last week. Ziggler & Roode used a steel chair on both Ford & Angelo Dawkins during the attack and hit Ford's leg with a chair as it was up against the ring post.

Ford struggled to get to his feet after tonight's match and Dawkins tried to help him. Ziggler & Roode attacked The Street Profits and knocked them out of the ring. Ziggler & Roode then celebrated with the SmackDown Tag Team titles.

The Street Profits had retained the SmackDown Tag Team titles against Ziggler & Roode three weeks ago when Ford rolled up Roode while holding onto his tights. Roode previously did the same thing to Ford to win a non-title match.

The Street Profits had been Raw Tag Team Champions prior to swapping titles with The New Day's Kofi Kingston & Xavier Woods when the teams switched brands in October's WWE Draft.

Ziggler & Roode are using the Dirty Dawgs as their tag team name.