About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 21): final WCW Clash Of The Champions, Dusty Rhodes beats Harley Race for NWA world title

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1941 - Kansas City, Kansas at Memorial Hall; Dorv Roche beat Bobby Bruns in 2 of 3 falls, Steve Brody defeated Ed White in 2 of 3 falls, Ray Eckert beat Earl Wampler and Benny Rosen defeated Carl Von Herbert

1947 - In Kansas City, Kansas at Memorial Hall, attendance was 3,807; Orville Brown beat Cardiff Giant 2 falls to 1 to retain the MWA Title. Also, Warren Bockwinkel beat Wally Dusek 2 falls to 1, Tug Carlson drew Jay Steele and Sockeye Jack McDonald beat sailor Fred Blassie

1962 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; Verne Gagne beat Mr. M to regain AWA Title and unmasked Mr. M as Bill Miller. Also, Moose Evans & Tiny Mills beat Ilio Dipaolo & Joe Scarpello, Bob Geigel drew Doug Gilbert and Jack Lanza beat Bill Wright. Attendance was 7,653

1965 - At Midway Stadium in St. Paul, Minnesota; The Crusher defeated Mad Dog Vachon for the AWA World Heavyweight Title. Also, AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Bob Ellis & Tex McKenzie in 2 of 3 falls, Billy Red Cloud beat Chris Markoff dq, Danny Hodge beat Eddie Sharkey and Larry Heiniemi beat Johnny Carr. Attendance was 6,345

1967 - In a match for the Southern Tag Team Title, Alberto Torres & Ramon Torres defeated Stan Vachon & Butcher Vachon to win the title in Augusta, Georgia.

1969 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Dr. X COR, in a Non Title Match, Flying Redheads Red Bastien & Billy Red Lyons beat Canadian Tag Team Champions Dutch Savage & Bob Brown in 2 of 3 falls, Bill Watts beat Mad Dog Vachon, Butcher Vachon beat Rene Goulet, Al Tomko beat George Gadaski and Bob Tuck beat Golden Boy. Attendance was 6,300

1972 - Orlando, Florida at the Sports Stadium; Southern Champion Mr Wrestling Tim Woods beat Buddy Colt, In a Karate legal match, Florida Champion Paul Jones beat Hiro Matsuda and Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Mike George & Bob Griffin

1973 - Honolulu, Hawaii; Ken Patera & Billy Robinson beat AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens on a 3rd fall dq, WWWF Champion Pedro Morales double countout with Ed Francis, Betty Niccoli & Ripper Collins beat Jean Antone & Paul Jones, Sam Steamboat beat Hard Boiled Haggerty and Bill Francis beat Tony Borne dq

1978: Memphis, Tennessee at Mid South Coliseum; Jerry Lawler beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Frankie Laine & Mike Bowyer, Verne Gagne beat Eddie Sullivan, NWA Junior Heavyweight Champion Nelson Royal beat Jackie Welch and Bill Dundee & Dick the Bruiser & Tommy Gilbert & Wayne Ferris no contest Jos LeDuc & Jean Louie & Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant

1979 - Dusty Rhodes defeated Harley Race for the NWA World Heavyweight Wrestling Title in Tampa, Florida.

1981 - In Denver, Colorado; AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura, Ray Stevens beat Baron Von Raschke, Hulk Hogan beat Pat Patterson by countout, Brad Rheingans beat Jerry Blackwell and Tito Santana beat Sheik Adnan

1982 - St. Petersburg, Florida in a Barbed Wire match; Dusty Rhodes & Terry Funk beat Kendo Nagasaki & King Tonga, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Sweet Brown Sugar, Butch Reed & Barry Windham & Jerry Lawler beat Bruiser Brody & John Studd & Dory Funk Jr dq, Jim Garvin beat Mike Graham dq, Kamala beat Terry Allen and Kevin Sullivan beat Derek Draper

1983 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin in an Algerian Death Match; Mad Dog Vachon beat Jerry Blackwell, Hulk Hogan no contest David Shultz, Greg Gagne beat Bill White, Jim Brunzell beat Sheik Adnan, Mr. Saito beat Steve Olsonoski (sub Rick Martel) and Baron Von Raschke beat Blackjack Lanza

1987 - Kansas City, Kansas; AWA Champion Curt Hennig beat DJ Peterson, Bob Geigel & Mike George ddq Rip Rogers & Abdullah, Steve Ray beat Steve Estes, Pork Chop Cash drew Jay Strongbow Jr, Brad Batten & Bart Batten beat Bobby Jaggers & Sam Cody, Rip Rogers beat TC Carter, Rufus Jones ddq Earthquake Ferris and Vinnie Valentino beat Ric McCord

1997 - At the final WCW Clash of the Champions card, Steve McMichael defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the WCW United States Title in Nashville, Tennessee. Also on the card, Ric Flair & Curt Hennig defeated Konnan & Syxx, WCW Cruiserweight Champion Chris Jericho defeated Eddie Guerrero and WCW Tag Team Champions Scott Hall & Randy Savage (subbing for Kevin Nash) defeated Diamond Dallas Page & Lex Luger.

2002 - Jerry Lynn defeated defending champion Low Ki and AJ Styles in a ladder match to win the TNA X Division Title in Nashville, Tennessee.

2004 - Christopher Daniels won a four-way match over champion Joey Matthews, Christopher Daniels, AJ Styles and Chris Sabin to win the 3PW championship in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

2005 - At WWE SummerSlam, Chris Benoit defeated Orlando Jordan to win the US Title. Also on the card, Randy Orton defeated the Undertaker, World Champion Batista defeated JBL in a no holds barred match, and WWE Champion John Cena defeated Chris Jericho.