About Us  |   Contact

WWE adds John Cena to SmackDown at Madison Square Garden

WWE's return to Madison Square Garden has gotten a significant addition.

WWE announced today that John Cena will be appearing at the Friday, September 10 episode of SmackDown at Madison Square Garden. This is the first post-SummerSlam appearance that Cena has been announced for.

The Madison Square Garden SmackDown episode is being advertised as a "Supershow" that will feature the top stars of both SmackDown and Raw.

Cena returned to WWE programming at Money in the Bank, appearing for the first time since his Firefly Fun House match against "The Fiend" Bray Wyatt at WrestleMania 36. Cena then made appearances on last Monday's Raw, last Friday's SmackDown, and at WWE's house shows in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Louisville, Kentucky over the weekend.

Cena returned to the ring in a dark match after last Friday's SmackDown, teaming with Rey & Dominik Mysterio to defeat Roman Reigns & The Usos. That match also took place at WWE's Pittsburgh and Louisville house shows.

Cena is expected to challenge for Reigns' Universal Championship at SummerSlam. The pay-per-view is taking place at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada on Saturday, August 21.

The SmackDown episode at Madison Square Garden will be WWE's first show at "The World's Most Famous Arena" since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

Here's the updated list of appearances that Cena has been announced for:

  • Monday, July 26: Raw -- T-Mobile Center in Kansas City, Missouri
  • Friday, July 30: SmackDown -- Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Saturday, July 31: Supershow house show -- Fiserv Forum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Sunday, August 1: Supershow house show -- Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan
  • Friday, August 6: SmackDown -- Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida
  • Saturday, August 7: Supershow house show -- Hertz Arena in Fort Myers, Florida
  • Monday, August 9: Raw -- Amway Center in Orlando, Florida
  • Friday, August 13: SmackDown -- BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Saturday, August 14: Supershow house show -- Spectrum Center in Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Sunday, August 15: Supershow house show -- Colonial Life Arena in Columbia, South Carolina
  • Friday, August 20: SmackDown -- Footprint Center in Phoenix, Arizona
  • Saturday, August 21: SummerSlam -- Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Friday, September 10: SmackDown -- Madison Square Garden in New York City