About Us  |   Contact

WWE reveals first eight wrestlers for UK Championship tournament

The first eight wrestlers have been announced for WWE's next United Kingdom Championship tournament.

WWE revealed today that Zack Gibson, Joe Coffey, Jack Gallagher, Dave Mastiff, Kenny Williams, El Ligero, Joseph Conners, and Amir Jordan will be taking part in the 16-man tournament. The first round matches will take place at Download Festival on June 8-10, with the winners advancing to Royal Albert Hall on June 18th.

The wrestler who wins the tournament will challenge for Pete Dunne's WWE United Kingdom Championship during the second night at Royal Albert Hall on June 19th.

Dave Meltzer reported this Monday that Coffey, Mastiff, and Ligero were among the UK wrestlers that WWE had been attempting to sign in recent weeks. Gibson agreed to a deal with the company earlier this year.

Williams made his WWE debut on last night's episode of 205 Live in a fatal four-way match with Tyler Bate, Kalisto, and TJP.

The remaining eight participants for the tournament will be announced this Friday.