About Us  |   Contact

WWE SummerSlam to take place on a Saturday, more tour dates revealed

SummerSlam 2021 will officially be held on a Saturday.

WWE announced today that this year's SummerSlam will take place on Saturday, August 21. The location for the event will be revealed on NBC's pre-race show for the Belmont Stakes on Saturday, June 5.

WWE stated that SummerSlam will take place at a "summer destination location." Tickets for the show will go on sale on Friday, June 18.

Andrew Zarian of the Mat Men podcast first reported that SummerSlam would take place on August 21. The Saturday date for SummerSlam is a change from WWE pay-per-views normally being held on Sundays.

Dave Meltzer reported earlier this month that Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada was the leading candidate to host SummerSlam. Sports Business Journal wrote yesterday that six NFL stadiums are under consideration to host SummerSlam. Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, Florida; SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California; NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas; MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey; and Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tennessee were the venues listed in addition to Allegiant Stadium.

If SummerSlam takes place in Las Vegas, it will be on the same day that the city hosts a boxing match between Manny Pacquiao and Errol Spence Jr.

Including SummerSlam, WWE announced 21 more shows that will be taking place on their summer tour today. They include the first house shows that WWE will be running since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Nine weekend house shows are listed as Supershows on the schedule, including an event in Denver, Colorado the day after SummerSlam. The pre-SummerSlam episode of SmackDown will take place in Phoenix, Arizona.

Here's the full list of tour dates that were announced today.

  • Saturday, July 24: Supershow -- PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Sunday, July 25: Supershow -- KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Kentucky
  • Saturday, July 31: Supershow -- Fiserv Forum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Sunday, August 1: Supershow -- Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan
  • Monday, August 2: Raw -- Allstate Arena in Chicago, Illinois
  • Friday, August 6: SmackDown -- Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida
  • Saturday, August 7: Supershow -- Hertz Arena in Fort Myers, Florida
  • Sunday, August 8: Supershow -- Stephen O’Connell Center in Gainesville, Florida
  • Monday, August 9: Raw -- Amway Center in Orlando, Florida
  • Friday, August 13: SmackDown -- BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Saturday, August 14: Supershow -- Spectrum Center in Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Sunday, August 15: Supershow -- Colonial Life Arena in Columbia, South Carolina
  • Monday, August 16: Raw -- AT&T Center in San Antonio, Texas
  • Friday, August 20: SmackDown -- Phoenix Suns Arena in Phoenix, Arizona
  • Saturday, August 21: SummerSlam
  • Sunday, August 22: Supershow -- Ball Arena in Denver, Colorado
  • Monday, August 23: Raw -- Pechanga Arena in San Diego, California
  • Friday, August 27: SmackDown -- Simmons Bank Arena in North Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Monday, August 30: Raw -- Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • Friday, September 3: SmackDown -- VyStar Veterans Memorial Arena in Jacksonville, Florida
  • Monday, September 6: Raw -- American Airlines Arena in Miami, Florida

Tickets for those non-SummerSlam events will go on sale on Friday, June 11.

Those 21 events join the following shows on WWE's summer tour:

  • Friday, July 16: SmackDown -- Toyota Center in Houston, Texas
  • Sunday, July 18: Money in the Bank -- Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas
  • Monday, July 19: Raw -- American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas
  • Friday, July 23: SmackDown – Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio
  • Monday, July 26: Raw – T-Mobile Center in Kansas City, Missouri
  • Friday, July 30: SmackDown – Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota