Skip to main content

Frankie Kazarian to relinquish X-Division title for Impact World title shot

Kazarian exercised "option C" on Thursday's Impact.
Frankie Kazarian

The latest Impact X-Division title reign for Frankie Kazarian will be a short one.

On Thursday's post-Bound for Glory edition of their weekly TV show, Kazarian told Impact World Champion Josh Alexander that he was exercising "option C" -- an Impact rule where the X-Division champion can relinquish their title in exchange for a World title shot.

Kazarian will relinquish the title on next Thursday's Impact on AXS after he defeated "Speedball" Mike Bailey for the title at Bound for Glory.

The date and location for that match will be revealed at that time, in addition to the plans for the soon-to-be vacant X-Division title.

Alexander received the news right after he defended his title once again, this time over Impact newcomer Bobby Fish. The win came a week after he successfully defended against Eddie Edwards at Bound for Glory.

When Alexander and Kazarian do meet, it will be for the first time.