Skip to main content

Full card for NJPW Sakura Genesis revealed


The full card for NJPW's Sakura Genesis event has been revealed, featuring a number of title matches and a couple of matches where members of the Bullet Club are set to face off against one another.

After defeating The Young Bucks at Strong Style Evolved, Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi will take on Cody Rhodes & Hangman Page in the semi-main event of Sakura Genesis. With the show taking place just days before ROH's Supercard of Honor, the tension between Cody and Omega is sure to be a focal point of the match.

Bullet Club tensions will also flare as The Young Bucks take on Chase Owens & Yujiro Takahashi in the opener.

In addition to Kazuchika Okada defending his IWGP Heavyweight Championship against Zack Sabre Jr. in the main event, Will Ospreay will defend the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship against Marty Scurll, El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru will defend their Junior Tag Team titles against Roppongi 3K and Hiromu Takahashi & BUSHI in a triple threat match, and Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa & Bad Luck Fale will defend the NEVER Six-Man titles against Togi Makabe, Michael Elgin & Ryusuke Taguchi.

Before Sakura Genesis, New Japan World will have a "Road To" show on March 30th that features the return of EVIL following a broken orbital bone. He’ll team up with the rest of Los Ingobernables de Japon (Hiromu Takahashi, BUSHI, SANADA & Tetsuya Naito) to take on the Suzuki-gun contingent of Desperado, Kanemaru, Davey Boy Smith Jr., Lance Archer & Minoru Suzuki. A tag team match featuring Okada & YOSHI-HASHI squaring off against Sabre & Taichi will headline.

Sakura Genesis will take place at Sumo Hall on April 1st at 3 a.m. Eastern time. Here's the full lineup:

  • IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada defending against Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi vs. Cody & Hangman Page
  • IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Will Ospreay defending against Marty Scurll
  • IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru defending against Roppongi 3K and Hiromu Takahashi & BUSHI in a triple threat match
  • Tetsuya Naito, EVIL & SANADA vs. Minoru Suzuki, Lance Archer & Davey Boy Smith Jr.
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi, Juice Robinson & David Finlay vs. Hirooki Goto, Jay White & YOSHI-HASHI
  • NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Champions Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa defending against Ryusuke Taguchi, Michael Elgin & Togi Makabe
  • Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano vs. Taichi & Takashi Iizuka
  • The Young Bucks vs. Chase Owens & Yujiro Takahashi