Skip to main content

New champions crowned at NWA Hard Times


New champions were crowned tonight at NWA Hard Times.

Ricky Starks defeated Trevor Murdoch in the main event of tonight’s show to become the new NWA World Television champion. Starks defeated Murdoch with the stroke. Starks won a one-night tournament to win the championship, also defeating Tim Storm and Matt Cross.

It was announced on December 14 that the NWA would be reintroducing the Television title, with the first champion being crowned at Hard Times. The design is similar to the NWA World Television title used in Jim Crockett Promotions during the 1980s.

The Women’s championship also changed hands. Thunder Rosa defeated Allysin Kay after countering Kay’s escape from an armbar with a Thunder Driver. This ends Kay’s run as champion after 273 days, defeating Santana Garrett back on April 29.

New NWA Tag Team champions were also crowned on the show, with James Storm and Eli Drake defeating The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express to win the titles. This ends Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson’s fifth run with the titles after 115 days, originally winning them back on October 1.