Skip to main content

NEVER Six-Man title match set for August 10 NJPW Summer Struggle


NJPW has added a NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Championship match to their August 10 Summer Struggle event in the Yokohama Budokan. 

NEVER Six-Man Champions Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI and Tomohiro Ishii will defend the titles against the Los Ingobernables de Japon trio of Tetsuya Naito, SANADA and BUSHI. The match was set up following the main event of Sunday's Summer Struggle show. 

After Goto, YOSHI-HASHI and Ishii retained their titles with a win over Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr. and Minoru Suzuki, Naito, SANADA and BUSHI made their way to the ring to declare themselves the next challengers. Goto and YOSHI-HASHI made it clear in post-match comments that they would accept the challenge, and now the match is official. 

A non-title match between IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Shingo Takagi and Yujiro Takahashi has also been announced for the August 10 event. 

Here is the full lineup: 

NJPW Summer Struggle, Tuesday, August 10, 5 a.m. Eastern time on NJPW World --

  • NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Championship: Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI & Tomohiro Ishii vs. Tetsuya Naito, SANADA & BUSHI
  • Shingo Takagi vs. Yujiro Takahashi
  • Togi Makabe, SHO & YOH vs. EVIL, Gedo & Dick Togo
  • Toru Yano, Robbie Eagles & Tiger Mask vs. Chase Owens, Taiji Ishimori & El Phantasmo
  • Tomoaki Honma, Ryusuke Taguchi & Master Wato vs. Minoru Suzuki, El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru