Skip to main content

NXT interim Cruiserweight title tourney Group A announced


Image: WWE

The upcoming NXT interim Cruiserweight Championship tournament is set to kick off live this Wednesday and we now know the combatants that will make up Group A:

  • Jake Atlas
  • Tony Nese
  • Drake Maverick
  • Kushida

Of the block, Nese is the only former NXT Cruiserweight Champion while Kushida was a six-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight champion in New Japan Pro Wrestling. Atlas recently made his on-screen NXT debut while Maverick was a two-time X Division champion in Impact Wrestling and has won the WWE 24/7 title six times.

In a change from traditional tournament format, the eight challengers will be split up into two groups with everyone in each group facing off against each other, gaining points for wins. The Group A and Group B winners will then face each other to crown the interim champion. The first matches and the Group B wrestlers have yet to be announced.

Current Cruiserweight Champion Jordan Devlin is unable to travel due to bans surrounding the coronavirus pandemic.